Bauer Grotesk_02

Bauer Grotesk

FF Bauer Grotesk is a revival and extension of the metal typeface Friedrich-Bauer-Grotesk, that originated in 1934 in Hamburg, Altona. We found this gem in an old specimen book and had to start the revival process right away. It would have been too big a loss to let it fade away.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

The original was drawn in the midst of a wave of geometric grotesques in the beginning of the 1930s, like Futura, Erbar or Elegant Grotesk. It is similar in it’s constructed appearance but surprisingly different in some very characteristic shapes, resulting in a livelier design. The oval O is a good example, as well as the M with diagonal legs or the dynamic shapes of m and n.

Design

We always kept as close to the design language of the original as possible. Continuously repeating the mantra: “What would Friedrich do”.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #0 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #1 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #2 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #3 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #4 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #5 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #6 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #7 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #8 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #9
< >

All of the characters were carefully digitized and slightly corrected – if necessary – or slightly reworked for a more contemporary feel without losing the charm of the original. A bunch of new characters and alternate glyphs, like the two-story a, were added.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

The typeface consists of six weights with accompanying italics. The digitization was based on the light and bold weight of original test prints. The remaining weights were added in respect of the original weights. The italic was drawn from scratch as an oblique.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Features

Apart from the typical OpenType features like small caps or superiors and inferiors, a range of alternate characters completes the typeface. So that the historical charme could be maintained in the basic version and a more contemporary feel could be evoked as well.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
The bold weight with and without alternates

Use cases

The best way to get a feel for the typeface is to see it in use.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Since 2017 Bauer Grotesk is the official signage typeface of the train station in Altona. That means the typeface returned to its place of origin after more than 80 years. This makes us especially happy! More info in the blog.

Bauer Grotesk_02

Bauer Grotesk

FF Bauer Grotesk ist eine grund­legende Überarbeitung und Erweiterung der Schrift­familie Friedrich-Bauer-Grotesk, die 1934 in Hamburg Altona entstand. Wir haben diesen Roh­diaman­ten in einem alten Schrift­muster­buch gefunden und mussten uns sofort an die Arbeit machen. Es wäre zu schade gewesen, die Schrift dort verstauben zu lassen.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Das Original entstand Anfang der 1930er Jahre inmitten einer Welle geo­metrischer Grotesk­schriften, wie Futura, Erbar, Kabel oder Elegant Grotesk. Sie ähnelt diesen Schriften in ihrer konstruierten Anmutung, überrascht aber durch viele charaktervolle Einzelformen, die die Schrift etwas leben­diger werden lassen. Das ovale O ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, aber auch das M mit den nach außen gestellten Schen­keln oder die dyna­mischen Formen von m und n.

Design

Immer frei nach dem Motto „Was würde Friedrich tun“, haben wir versucht die Formen­sprache des ursprüng­lichen Designs beizu­behalten und uns so nah wie möglich am Original orientiert.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #0 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #1 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #2 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #3 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #4 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #5 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #6 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #7 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #8 Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten #9
< >

Alle Zeichen wurden sorgfältig digitalisiert und – wenn nötig – leicht korrigiert oder an einigen Stellen behutsam an heutige Seh­gewohnheiten angepasst, ohne den Cha­rakter des Originals zu verlieren. Viele weitere Zeichen und Alternati­v­formen, wie das zwei­­geschossige a, wurden neu gezeichnet.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Die Schrift ist in sechs Schnitten mit zugehöriger Kursive ausgebaut. Die Digi­talisierung erfolgte auf Basis des Light- und Bold-Schnitts. Die restlichen Schnitte wurden unter Berücksich­tigung des Originals ergänzt. Die Kursive wurde als Oblique angelegt und komplett neu gezeichnet.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Features

Die Schriftfamilie verfügt neben den typischen OpenType-Features, wie Small Caps oder hoch- und tief­gestell­ten Ziffern über diverse Alternativ­zeichen, um sowohl den histo­rischen Charakter in der Basis­version zu erhalten, aber zugleich auch einen zeit­gemäßeren Aus­druck zu ermöglichen.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Der Bold-Schnitt mit und ohne Alternativbuchstaben

Anwendungsbeispiele

Am besten zeigt sich Charakter der Schrift in unter­schiedlichen Anwendungen.

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten
Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Bauer Grotesk Typeface allerzeiten

Seit 2017 wird die Bauer Grotesk am Altonaer Bahnhof (und dem gesamten S-Bahn Citytunnel) für die Beschil­de­rung eingesetzt und ist somit nach knapp über 80 Jahren an ihren Entstehungs­ort zurück­gekehrt. Das freut uns ganz besonders!